List of national public holidays of India in 2018

This page contains a calendar of all 2018 public holidays for India. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates. Scroll down to view the national list or choose your state’s calendar.

Day Date Holiday Notes
Monday Jan. 1, 2018 New Year's Day Several states
Monday Jan. 1, 2018 New Year's Day
Tuesday Jan. 2, 2018 New Year's Celebration Mizoram Only
Tuesday Jan. 2, 2018 Mannam Jayanthi Kerala Only
Friday Jan. 5, 2018 Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Several states
Thursday Jan. 11, 2018 Missionary Day Mizoram
Friday Jan. 12, 2018 Birthday of Swami Vivekananda West Bengal only
Sunday Jan. 14, 2018 Bhogi Andhra Pradesh, Telangana
Sunday Jan. 14, 2018 Makar Sankranti
Sunday Jan. 14, 2018 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Sunday Jan. 14, 2018 Sankranti Several states
Monday Jan. 15, 2018 Tusu Puja Assam
Monday Jan. 15, 2018 Sankranti Several states
Monday Jan. 15, 2018 Thiruvalluvar Day Puducherry, Tamil Nadu
Tuesday Jan. 16, 2018 Uzhavar Tirunal Puducherry, Tamil Nadu only
Wednesday Jan. 17, 2018 Sonam Lhochar Sikkim only. Tamang New Year
Monday Jan. 22, 2018 Sir Chhotu Ram Jayanti Haryana only
Monday Jan. 22, 2018 Vasant Panchami Several states
Tuesday Jan. 23, 2018 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Thursday Jan. 25, 2018 Statehood Day Himachal Pradesh only
Friday Jan. 26, 2018 Republic Day
Friday Jan. 26, 2018 Republic Day
Wednesday Jan. 31, 2018 Guru Ravidas Birthday Several states. Full moon of Magh
Wednesday Jan. 31, 2018 Guru Ravidas Jayanti
Wednesday Jan. 31, 2018 Me-dam-me-phi Assam. Ancestor festival
Saturday Feb. 10, 2018 Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti
Tuesday Feb. 13, 2018 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Wednesday Feb. 14, 2018 Maha Shivratri Several states
Wednesday Feb. 14, 2018 Maha Shivaratri/Shivaratri
Wednesday Feb. 14, 2018 Valentine's Day
Thursday Feb. 15, 2018 Lui-Ngai-Ni Manipur
Friday Feb. 16, 2018 Losar Sikkim only. Tibetan New Year
Friday Feb. 16, 2018 Chinese New Year
Monday Feb. 19, 2018 Shivaji Jayanti
Thursday March 1, 2018 Holika Dahana
Friday March 2, 2018 Holi
Sunday March 18, 2018 Chaitra Sukhladi
Tuesday March 20, 2018 March Equinox
Sunday March 25, 2018 Rama Navami
Thursday March 29, 2018 Mahavir Jayanti
Thursday March 29, 2018 Maundy Thursday
Friday March 30, 2018 Good Friday
Saturday March 31, 2018 First day of Passover
Sunday April 1, 2018 Easter Day
Sunday April 1, 2018 Hazarat Ali's Birthday
Saturday April 14, 2018 Vaisakhi
Saturday April 14, 2018 Ambedkar Jayanti
Sunday April 15, 2018 Mesadi/Vaisakhadi
Monday April 30, 2018 Buddha Purnima/Vesak
Tuesday May 1, 2018 May Day
Wednesday May 9, 2018 Birthday of Ravindranath
Sunday May 13, 2018 Mother's Day
Friday June 15, 2018 Jamat Ul-Vida
Friday June 15, 2018 Ramzan Id/Eid-ul-Fitar
Sunday June 17, 2018 Father's Day
Thursday June 21, 2018 June Solstice
Saturday July 14, 2018 Rath Yatra
Friday July 27, 2018 Guru Purnima
Sunday Aug. 5, 2018 Friendship Day
Wednesday Aug. 15, 2018 Independence Day
Friday Aug. 17, 2018 Parsi New Year
Wednesday Aug. 22, 2018 Bakr Id/Eid ul-Adha
Saturday Aug. 25, 2018 Onam
Sunday Aug. 26, 2018 Raksha Bandhan (Rakhi)
Monday Sept. 3, 2018 Janmashtami
Monday Sept. 3, 2018 Janmashtami (Smarta)
Thursday Sept. 13, 2018 Ganesh Chaturthi/Vinayaka Chaturthi
Friday Sept. 21, 2018 Muharram/Ashura
Sunday Sept. 23, 2018 September Equinox
Tuesday Oct. 2, 2018 Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday Oct. 16, 2018 Maha Saptami
Wednesday Oct. 17, 2018 Maha Ashtami
Thursday Oct. 18, 2018 Maha Navami
Friday Oct. 19, 2018 Dussehra
Wednesday Oct. 24, 2018 Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti
Saturday Oct. 27, 2018 Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chauth)
Wednesday Oct. 31, 2018 Halloween
Tuesday Nov. 6, 2018 Naraka Chaturdasi
Wednesday Nov. 7, 2018 Diwali/Deepavali
Thursday Nov. 8, 2018 Govardhan Puja
Friday Nov. 9, 2018 Bhai Duj
Tuesday Nov. 13, 2018 Chhat Puja (Pratihar Sashthi/Surya Sashthi)
Wednesday Nov. 21, 2018 Milad un-Nabi/Id-e-Milad
Friday Nov. 23, 2018 Guru Nanak Jayanti
Saturday Nov. 24, 2018 Guru Tegh Bahadur's Martyrdom Day
Monday Dec. 3, 2018 First Day of Hanukkah
Monday Dec. 10, 2018 Last day of Hanukkah
Saturday Dec. 22, 2018 December Solstice
Monday Dec. 24, 2018 Christmas Eve
Tuesday Dec. 25, 2018 Christmas
Monday Dec. 31, 2018 New Year's Eve