List of national public holidays of Canada in 2020

This page contains a calendar of all 2020 public holidays for Canada. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates. Scroll down to view the national list or choose your state’s calendar.

Day Date Holiday Notes
Wednesday Jan. 1, 2020 New Year's Day
Wednesday Jan. 1, 2020 New Year's Day
Thursday Jan. 2, 2020 Day After New Year’s Day
Monday Jan. 6, 2020 Epiphany
Tuesday Jan. 7, 2020 Orthodox Christmas Day
Tuesday Jan. 14, 2020 Orthodox New Year
Saturday Jan. 25, 2020 Chinese New Year
Sunday Feb. 2, 2020 Groundhog Day
Monday Feb. 10, 2020 Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day)
Monday Feb. 10, 2020 Family Day Statutory holiday in British Columbia
Friday Feb. 14, 2020 Valentine's Day
Saturday Feb. 15, 2020 National Flag of Canada Day
Monday Feb. 17, 2020 Islander Day
Monday Feb. 17, 2020 Family Day 3rd Monday in February. Statutory holiday in Alberta, New Brunswick, Ontario, and Saskatchewan
Monday Feb. 17, 2020 Louis Riel Day 3rd Monday in February. Statutory holiday in Manitoba
Monday Feb. 17, 2020 Nova Scotia Heritage Day 3rd Monday in February
Monday Feb. 17, 2020 Louis Riel Day
Friday Feb. 21, 2020 Yukon Heritage Day
Tuesday Feb. 25, 2020 Carnival / Shrove Tuesday
Wednesday Feb. 26, 2020 Ash Wednesday
Sunday March 1, 2020 St David's Day
Sunday March 8, 2020 Daylight Saving Time starts
Monday March 9, 2020 Commonwealth Day
Tuesday March 10, 2020 Purim
Monday March 16, 2020 St. Patrick's Day Newfoundland and Labrador, Govt only
Monday March 16, 2020 St. Patrick's Day
Thursday March 19, 2020 March Equinox
Sunday March 22, 2020 Isra and Mi'raj
Sunday April 5, 2020 Palm Sunday
Monday April 6, 2020 National Tartan Day
Thursday April 9, 2020 First day of Passover
Thursday April 9, 2020 Vimy Ridge Day
Thursday April 9, 2020 Maundy Thursday
Friday April 10, 2020 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday. Statutory, except in Quebec where Easter Monday can be taken as alternative
Friday April 10, 2020 Good Friday
Saturday April 11, 2020 Holy Saturday
Sunday April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday
Monday April 13, 2020 Easter Monday Nunavut. Optional in Alberta and Quebec
Monday April 13, 2020 Easter Monday
Thursday April 16, 2020 Last day of Passover
Friday April 17, 2020 Orthodox Good Friday
Saturday April 18, 2020 Orthodox Holy Saturday
Sunday April 19, 2020 Orthodox Easter
Monday April 20, 2020 Orthodox Easter Monday
Monday April 20, 2020 St. George's Day
Tuesday April 21, 2020 Yom HaShoah
Thursday April 23, 2020 St. George's Day Newfoundland and Labrador. Govt. holiday
Friday April 24, 2020 Ramadan Start
Wednesday April 29, 2020 Yom HaAtzmaut
Sunday May 10, 2020 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Sunday May 10, 2020 Mother's Day
Tuesday May 12, 2020 Lag B'Omer
Monday May 18, 2020 Victoria Day Monday on or before May 24. Statutory, except in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia
Monday May 18, 2020 National Patriots' Day Quebec only
Tuesday May 19, 2020 Laylatul Qadr (Night of Power)
Thursday May 21, 2020 Ascension Day
Sunday May 24, 2020 Eid ul Fitr
Friday May 29, 2020 Shavuot
Sunday May 31, 2020 Pentecost
Monday June 1, 2020 Whit Monday
Sunday June 7, 2020 Trinity Sunday
Thursday June 11, 2020 Corpus Christi
Saturday June 20, 2020 June Solstice
Sunday June 21, 2020 National Indigenous Peoples Day
Sunday June 21, 2020 National Aboriginal Day Northwest Territories, Yukon. Provincial Statutory Holiday
Sunday June 21, 2020 Father's Day 3rd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Sunday June 21, 2020 Father's Day
Monday June 22, 2020 Discovery Day
Monday June 22, 2020 Discovery Day Monday nearest June 24th. Newfoundland and Labrador only
Wednesday June 24, 2020 The National Holiday of Quebec Quebec only
Wednesday June 24, 2020 St. Jean Baptiste Day
Wednesday July 1, 2020 Canada Day Nova Scotia
Wednesday July 1, 2020 Memorial Day
Thursday July 9, 2020 Nunavut Day Nunavut only. Not a holiday for Federal employees
Monday July 13, 2020 Orangeman's Day Newfoundland and Labrador. Monday cloest to July 12
Monday July 13, 2020 Orangemen's Day
Thursday July 30, 2020 Tisha B'Av
Friday July 31, 2020 Eid ul Adha
Monday Aug. 3, 2020 Natal Day
Monday Aug. 3, 2020 Terry Fox Day
Monday Aug. 3, 2020 Saskatchewan Day
Monday Aug. 3, 2020 Civic/Provincial Day
Monday Aug. 3, 2020 Civic Holiday First Monday in August
Monday Aug. 3, 2020 Heritage Day
Monday Aug. 3, 2020 New Brunswick Day
Monday Aug. 3, 2020 British Columbia Day
Monday Aug. 3, 2020 Heritage Day Alberta. Optional Holiday. First Monday in August
Monday Aug. 3, 2020 Civic Day First Monday in August
Monday Aug. 3, 2020 Civic Holiday Ontario. Non Statutory but widely observed
Wednesday Aug. 5, 2020 The Royal St John's Regatta (Regatta Day)
Saturday Aug. 15, 2020 Assumption of Mary
Monday Aug. 17, 2020 Discovery Day Third Monday in August. Yukon only
Thursday Aug. 20, 2020 Muharram/Islamic New Year
Friday Aug. 21, 2020 Gold Cup Parade
Monday Sept. 7, 2020 Labour Day First Monday in September
Monday Sept. 7, 2020 Labour Day
Saturday Sept. 19, 2020 Rosh Hashana
Tuesday Sept. 22, 2020 September Equinox
Monday Sept. 28, 2020 Yom Kippur
Saturday Oct. 3, 2020 First day of Sukkot
Sunday Oct. 4, 2020 Feast of St Francis of Assisi
Friday Oct. 9, 2020 Hoshana Rabbah
Saturday Oct. 10, 2020 Shemini Atzeret
Sunday Oct. 11, 2020 Simchat Torah
Monday Oct. 12, 2020 Thanksgiving 2nd Monday in October. Statutory, except in Newfoundland, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island
Monday Oct. 12, 2020 Thanksgiving 2nd Monday in October. Designated retail closing day in Nova Scotia
Monday Oct. 12, 2020 Thanksgiving Day
Sunday Oct. 18, 2020 Healthcare Aide Day
Thursday Oct. 29, 2020 Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Saturday Oct. 31, 2020 Halloween
Sunday Nov. 1, 2020 Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday Nov. 1, 2020 All Saints' Day
Monday Nov. 2, 2020 All Souls' Day
Wednesday Nov. 11, 2020 Remembrance Day Federal statutory holiday and some provinces
Wednesday Nov. 11, 2020 Remembrance Day
Wednesday Nov. 11, 2020 Remembrance Day Statutory holiday in many regions
Saturday Nov. 14, 2020 Diwali/Deepavali
Sunday Nov. 29, 2020 First Sunday of Advent
Tuesday Dec. 8, 2020 Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Friday Dec. 11, 2020 First Day of Hanukkah
Friday Dec. 11, 2020 Anniversary of the Statute of Westminster
Friday Dec. 18, 2020 Last day of Hanukkah
Monday Dec. 21, 2020 December Solstice
Thursday Dec. 24, 2020 Christmas Eve
Friday Dec. 25, 2020 Christmas Day
Friday Dec. 25, 2020 Christmas Day
Saturday Dec. 26, 2020 Boxing Day Non-Statutory and Designated retail closing day in Nova Scotia
Saturday Dec. 26, 2020 Boxing Day Statutory in Ontario and federal jurisdictions. Optional in Alberta
Monday Dec. 28, 2020 Boxing Day Newfoundland and Labrador, Nunavut. Govt. Only
Thursday Dec. 31, 2020 New Year's Eve