Costa Rica public holidays in 2014

Do you know what to expect in Costa Rica? Well, you should expect emerald rainforests that are packed with wildlife, imposing volcanic peaks, rapid rivers, the fresh oranges picked from the trees and the famous, pastel colored hummingbirds. Costa Rica is a country that has a unique nature which puts breathtaking scenery in front of the eyes of every tourist. Numerous people from all the corners of the world fell in love with Costa Rica and you will surely do that too if you choose to visit the country. If you have such a plan, then you should visit Costa Rica during one of its public holidays. It doesn’t matter if the public holiday is a religion related one (as Costa Rica is a highly religious country) or a historic one; what matters is that you will experience some unique celebrations that will show you the culture, the customs and the traditions of this beautiful country. For example, if you choose to visit Costa Rica around the New Year, you will enjoy the special festivities organized on the New Year’s Day, while if you choose to visit the country around Easter, you’ll be witness to the impressive processions and the pilgrimages that Costa Ricans love so much.

There are 14 public holidays in Costa Rica in 2014.

Name Weekday Start Date End Date
New Year's Day Wednesday 01 January Wednesday, 01 January
Juan Santamaría's Day Thursday 10 April Thursday, 10 April
Saturday 19 April Saturday, 19 April
Labour Day Thursday 01 May Thursday, 01 May
Guanacaste Day Thursday 24 July Thursday, 24 July
Virgin of Los Angeles Friday 01 August Friday, 01 August
Feast of Patroness of Costa Rica
Thursday 14 August Thursday, 14 August
Assumption Thursday 14 August Thursday, 14 August
Monday 15 September Monday, 15 September
Día de las Culturas Saturday 11 October Saturday, 11 October
Cultures National Day Sunday 12 October Sunday, 12 October
Columbus Day
All Souls Day Sunday 02 November Sunday, 02 November
Christmas Day Thursday 25 December Thursday, 25 December
New Year's Eve Wednesday 31 December Wednesday, 31 December
The Nearest Costa Rica public holiday in 2014 from now 10 October 2015 is: